The Department of Political Science was started in Cauvery College, Gonikoppal in the year 1968. Prof. Erappa, Prof. C.C Muthanna, Prof. M.D Accamma served as heads of the department. At present Smt. KT Seethamma is serving as the HOD of Political Science. Smt. Kavya CT and Sri. Vanith Kumar MN are serving as the lecturers in the department. Our department is one of the oldest department in our college. Every year we are getting an average of 95% to 100% result with many distinctions. We have produced number of political leaders at the Grama panchayat and Taluk level. Many of our students are serving as teachers, lawyers and lecturers. One of our student Sri SS Madaiah is working as the Principal of Cauvery Pre University College, Gonikoppal. Another student Panchama SN is working as the Prof. in St.Philomina’s college Mysore and perceiving her doctorate in Political Science we take students to District courts, Taluk court and High court to observe the court proceedings.

The Department of Political Science endeavors to generate new knowledge and produce students who are trained in Political Science. The Department strives to pursue academic excellence in teaching, research and extension activities to help Students to understand the significance of politics in their life. The Department aims to provide  training to students by organizing various competitions like Mock Parliament, Moot Court, Class Quiz, Group Discussions, Seminars, Court visits, visit to Grama Panchayats,Model making etc. Students areassigned project works every year to boost their confidence and to stimulate their inner potential.

Courses available:

B A Graduation for three years and four years( NEP)

B A Degree–six semesters—three years—credit based syllabus.

Eligibility criteria:

Students should have passed 10+2 from the recognized board and any stream.

B A Degree :NEP—8 semesters ,4 years .(National Educational Policy syllabus.)


Effective citizenship: The course curriculum inculcates among students a basic understanding of the rights and duties of citizenship and thereby to act as responsible citizens through the observation of important days such as Independence day, Republic day,National Voters Day,Constitution Day,Human Rights Day etc.

Linking academics and civil society  to successfully address socio political problems.

Debates, discussions and seminars are regularly organised on relevant themes and participation is sought from experienced resource persons in order to motivate and inform students about the opportunities and future prospects in the field and

To develop the overall personality of students and prepare them to compete and succeed in their endeavours.


Develop civic sense among students.

Analyze political and policy problems and formulate policy options.

Creating values in young youth regarding patriotism.

Identifying how electoral rules and procedures in India affect election outcomes.

To identify various issues and challenges towards international relations.

Building overall consciousness regarding national political history, international relations and present Indian and Western political thinkers.

Examining India’s foreign relations with her neighbours and other developed countries.



Wifi enabled campus.

Qualified and experienced teaching faculties.

Separate staff room for department.

Well equipped classrooms.

LCD installed classroom.

Department library.

Electoral Literacy Club(ELC) to conduct various activities relating to voting and enrollment.

Assignment of projects.

Placement assistance.

Visits to courts, panchayats etc.

Indulging the students in various skill development activities.


Civil Services.

Policy Analyst.


Legisltaive Assistance.

Social Media Manager.



Foreign Service Officer.

Legal Advisor to Political Parties.

Election and Camapign Manager etc.

Politicians,Social Service etc.